Sparkol Help

Topic not covered?

Start a new topic

How to draw images in inkscape with colour fill so that it shows correctly in videoscribe ?

Hi,

When ever I draw an image in inkscape with pencil/pen tool and fill the different  colour it shows two boundary lines while drawing. Pls refer image 1. Once the drawing is complete, it gets fill entirely with the colour. Pls refer image 2.  Also attached svg file.

I have looked solution in various forums but still unable to do. Since I am quite new to this, perhaps there could be some simpler method which I haven't tried yet.

Kindly advise and so share the information.

Regards

Looks to me like you have the whole SVG as one layer so it's picking up the colour where it overlaps the path of the outer line. If you have your fill on a second layer it should solve this. This is an AI example but shows you the theory behind it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDX03A7XUVI

Hi Aleynabi,

In addition to what Barry said, I believe the symptom you described is a symptom that occurs for people who are using Adobe Illustrator CC (2013 or newer)  or the newest version of inkscape (approximately 2013 or newer). There is a solution but I will explain the symptom first.

The new versions of those two programs use updated pen and pencil tools, and the result is a bit of extra data in the SVG file that videoscribe interprets strangely. As videoscribe draws these stroked paths, it will also reveal a bit of any line or fill that either comes very close to or intersects the path.

The solutions (as of March 2016) are:
1) use a version of illustrator or inkscape older than 2013, or
2) use the following save settings in illustrator CC:

or
3) run your svg thorough a program like SVGCleaner that simplifies the SVG code, or
4) you can manually edit the SVG code in a text editor to remove a tag containing the word "viewbox"

related threads: Making SVG Images Draw Well (2015 update)